RArainbow

A resource blog for young women living with (Juvenile) Rheumatoid Arthritis

Young Adult Panel at the 2013 Juvenile Arthritis Conference

Leave a comment

Hi everyone!
Today I found a video which was extremely useful to me and I wanted to share it with all of you. It’s taken from this year’s Juvenile Arthritis Conference (put on by the Arthritis Foundation) and features the Young Adult Panel general session. I could relate very much to the stories of these young persons who have spent most of their lives living and adapting with arthritis.

I found myself nodding at so many of the points which they raised. I have never been to a JA conference (or camp), but I do hope that I will be able to attend one at some point in my life. It looks amazing! 🙂

One of the main points from this video is worth repeating. The panelists discuss the concept that we are not arthritis. Really, we are young persons who are living with arthritis, fighting it out as best as we know how. I completely agree. It’s easy to feel overwhelmed by this illness, especially when persons don’t quite understand it. For me personally, having arthritis has become a way of life. The visits to doctors, flares, side effects, menthol patches, heat packs and medications have become normal to me. Arthritis is a huge part of my life, but it’s not the only thing in my life (thank goodness! haha 😛 ) and it doesn’t define who I am. To all my fellow arthritis fighters out there, remember that you are smart, you are unique, you are STRONG and you have a lot to offer this world, even with arthritis. 😉 And when you feel down, remember that all around the world, we are all fighting this together.

Enjoy the video and feel free to discuss any of the issues raised in the comments below. Thanks! 🙂
Ms. Rainbow

Leave a Reply

