RArainbow

A resource blog for young women living with (Juvenile) Rheumatoid Arthritis

Arthritis Week in the UK!

Leave a comment

Hi everyone! This week the United Kingdom celebrates National Arthritis Week from the 7th to the 13th of October with a range of awareness events put on by Arthritis Research UK. So make sure you check it out if you live in the UK.

Through their site I came across this amazing story about 27 year old Ms. Natalie Wright, who was diagnosed with Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis (JIA) when she was 5 years old and has since had major joint surgeries to help with her mobility. I appreciate the honesty and details of this report and really hope that people will get a little more insight into the life of young people who live with autoimmune arthritis through it. If you read Natalie’s story, I’m sure many of you can relate, right? Thank you Natalie for bravely sharing your story with the world and know that we are all cheering for you! 🙂

I also came across this great article titled “The Painful Frustration of Arthritis” by Alan Silman, Medical Director at Arthritis Research UK. I could absolutely relate to this article, as I’m sure so many of you can too. For me, every physical task takes a bit more effort – from turning the handle of a door, to shampooing my hair, to holding my cup of tea. I don’t mind doing things slowly, because I know I will get there eventually. The challenging part is being around persons who don’t understand autoimmune arthritis and who make a lot of negative comments about my situation. Reading through arthritis blogs I know that this is a problem for many of you too. As I’ve gotten older, my technique has been to simply educate persons if I can. The reality is that most people don’t know about Juvenile Arthritis. So, until you let them know what’s going on, they won’t be able to know. Some people will understand it and will support you. Some of them may dismiss you, but it’s okay. I know it is extremely frustrating at times, but hang in there. You have a load of friends around the world who are going through the same experiences, so let’s keep fighting it out, together.

Wishing you all a wonderful weekend! 😉

❤ Ms. Rainbow

Leave a Reply

